The Goodness of our Father

My child are you discouraged by the sorrow of the day? Does it seem that life is troubling; the skies have turned to gray? Don't forget I've made you promises, to guide you every hour. In the moment of your heartbreak, let me show you My great power! 
And I will be your shield, when the battle rages on. And I will be your light, when the way ahead is dark. I will be your strong tower-I will guide you every hour. Just place your life completely in my hands.
I know it won't be easy, I never said it would. but My grace will always be there. My plans for you are good. Remember that your weaknesses are perfect in my sight. Only when you yield them to Me, can I turn them into might.
And I will be your shield, when the battle rages on. And I will be your light, when the way ahead is dark. I will be your strong tower-I will guide you every hour. Just place your life completely in My hands.

Jesus said that if I thirst, I should come to Him. No one else can satisfy. I should come to Him.
Jesus said if I am weak, I should come to Him. No one else can be my strength. I should come to Him.
For the Lord is Good and Faithful! He will keep us day and night. We can always run to Jesus. Jesus strong and kind.
Jesus said that if I fear, I should come to Him. No one else will be my shield. I should come to Him.
For the Lord is Good and Faithful. He will keep us day and night. We can always run to Jesus, Jesus strong and kind.
Jesus said if I am lost, He will come to me. And He showed me on the cross, He will come to me!
For the Lord is Good and Faithful, He will keep us day and night. We can always run to Jesus, Jesus strong and kind.

Give ear to my words, O Lord, consider my groaning. Give attention to the sound of my cry, my King, my God. O Lord, in the morning you hear my voice; in the morning I prepare a sacrifice for you and watch. For you are not a God who delights in wickedness; evil may not dwell with you. The boastful shall not stand before your eyes; you hate all evildoers. You destroy those who speak lies; the Lord abhors the bloodthirsty and deceitful man. But I, through the abundance of your steadfast love, will enter your house. But let all who take refuge in you rejoice; let them ever sing for joy, and spread your protection over them, that those who love your name may exult in you. For you bless the righteous, O Lord, you cover him with favor as with a shield. Psalm 5

I don't know the journey of each person reading this, but I know that my God is your God. His faithfulness is the same for you as for me. I know His love, mercy and abounding strength is the same for you as for me. My journey has been one of weariness, heart wrenching crying out to God, exhaustion and discouragement. My journey has also been one of seeing God's never ending faithfulness, His unfailing love, feeling Him carry me when I have thought I can not go on. It has been a journey of people being there at the right time for us when we need it. It has been God directing our footsteps with every decision. It has been a journey of weeping in exhaustion and exasperation together as a couple and as a family. Its been a journey of growing closer together as a couple and as a family and ultimately its been a journey of growing closer to God.

The journey is not over yet, but I continue to see the faithfulness of God as we walk this season of life. As we continue on in this journey God has us on we continue to feel Him carrying us. So, whatever journey you are on right now, remember God is faithful. Read Psalms. Let your heart cry out in anguish just like David did in many of those Psalms. Let your heart feel the pain, the exhaustion, the frustration. Take it all to God. Also indulge in the Psalms where David comes back with God's goodness and his faithfulness and love. Carry on, my friends. God is walking ahead of you on your journey!

Leave a comment